FC Erzgebirge Aue

The FC Erzgebirge Aue is a football club from Aue in Saxony, which was founded as BSG Pneumatik Aue in 1949 and won three GDR-championships as SC Wismut Karl-Marx-Stadt between 1956 and 1959. From 1963 to 1990 the club played as BSG Wismut Aue in the GDR-Premier League. After more renaming to FC Wismut Aue (1990) and to FC Erzgebirge Aue (1993), the team played in the second Bundesliga from 2003 to 2008 as well as from 2010 to 2014. In 2016, the club has been promoted to the second Bundesliga again.